top of page

Dreams of a 9-5, not really!


Being a freelance photographer is no easy task. You will go through periods without having an assignment, and everyone wants your service for free. It's so easy to go back to your comfort zone, which is sitting behind a desk feeling unmotivated, unappreciated, and unworthy. This has been life for me for the past 9 years, and today I officially left my comfort zone to focus on my photography career. The feeling of being mentally and physically drained from a 9-5 became very discouraging to say the least. Don't get me wrong, as I sit here and write this blog every thought of wanting to return back to corporate America is present in my mind. In fact, I even started applying to "jobs" that have absolutely nothing to do with photography. Pause!

I will not spend another moment of neglecting my goals to be a successful photographer in the fashion industry. Why should I ignore my creativity, and settle for jobs that will rob me from time spent in the fashion industry? I understand that photography is an expensive passion of mine, but that is not an excuse to return back to a 9-5. Recently, I settled for a job that made me question everything that I worked so hard for. So, I walked away, and I don't regret the decision I made. As a creative person, being trapped in an office all day is not what I envisioned for my life, and very boring. Money is not always a motive when your dreams are hanging by thread. Many would say having residual income from a 9-5 will help with funding your dreams, but at what cost? I choose happiness over money anyway.

June 30, 2017, I will be graduating with a Master of Science degree in Entertainment Business from Full Sail University. I chose this degree, because I wanted to understand the fundamentals of an entrepreneur. For once in my life, I would like to call the shots, and inspire people to be leaders in their prospective careers. Dealing with micromanaging for so long just made feel worthless, which pushed me to start my own photography business. Moreover, I was tired of managers talking to me in a condensing tone. Who does?

I started S LYNN FOTO in 2012, and I was unaware the amount of opportunities that wasn't knocking at my door. If I could count how many "No" response I received, being a millionaire would be on my resume. Did that stop me? No! I had to create my own opportunities, and that shy little girl from Queens, NY had to show this industry that I am here to stay. The intimidation that I felt when I started my business, followed me until this year. I transformed, and I told myself that fear would not sending back to corporate America. I took every no, and turned it into a positive affirmation to be great in my career.

Furthermore, the goal is to become a world renowned fashion photographer. This gift from God was definitely no meant for a 9-5 or contribute to someone else dream. My beloved grandmother Barbara L. Betts, who I miss so dearly, always taught me to remain resilient whenever life gets hard. Every experience from this journey has taught me to never give on my goals, and never let my fears lead me to a life of settling. Photography found me! Photography saved my life! Photography is my passion!

There is so much creativity that is inside me, and I must not pressure myself by rushing the process, but enjoy what is to come. The person reading this, please eliminate any doubt that your dreams will not happen. Strive for greatness, and ignore every naysayer that hands you a "NO". The journey will be long and rough, but the reward is so much sweeter, and every experience is preparing you for the lifetime of opportunities you will receive.

Overall, having a 9-5 is not a bad thing, but has taught me to never settle and fulfill every aspiration on my list. There is such a big world beyond sitting behind a desk, and unless you have a career that your comfortable working in, this blog will not apply to you. This is for the dreamers, and creative people that want to spend hours utilizing their gifts. Life is to precious to waste another moment not doing what you love.

Photo Credit: S LYNN FOTO

bottom of page